I M P O R T A N T: "NUMSA is turning 30th this year, forward us any story, pictures or videos of your struggle from the shop floor"


Andrew Nditshe Chirwa, President

Politically active during high school
2001 Elected president of the SRC at the tertiary institution where he was studying
2001 September Started working at Ford Motor company
2003 Elected a shop steward at Ford
2008 Elected deputy chairperson of Hlanganani region
2009 Elected chairperson of Hlanganani region
March 2012 Re-elected chairperson of Hlanganani region
June 2012 Elected Numsa First vice president
December 2013 Elected president unopposed

Basil Cele, First Deputy President

1979 started working at Smiths manufacturing
1984 elected Numsa shop steward
1986-1989 Elected Numsa Pinetown local vice chairperson
1989 elected Numsa Pinetown local chairperson
1996-1999 elected Numsa KZN regional treasurer
1999-2013 elected Numsa KZN regional chairperson
2009 elected Cosatu KZN Provincial deputy chairperson
2010-2012 elected Cosatu KZN Provincial chairperson
2013 elected Numsa 2nd deputy president

He is currently the president of the Motor Industries Bargaining Council (Mibco), a position he has held since 2002

Ruth Ntlokotse, Second Deputy President

1997 started working for Johnson Matthey
2006 elected NUMSA shop steward
2007 elected local deputy secretary
2007 elected RFC
2008 elected NUMSA Gender regional secretary
2011 elected gender national chairperson
2012 elected treasurer of the region
2012 elected to the NFC
2012 re-elected to the gender national chairperson position
2016 elected regional chairperson
2016 elected 2nd deputy president at the 10th NUMSA National Congress

Mphumzi Maqungo, National Treasurer

1996 Employed at General Motors (GM), Port Elizabeth
1999 Elected a part-time shop steward
2004 Became plant secretary at his workplace and a negotiator in the National Bargaining Forum for the auto manufacturing industry
2005 Elected member of the regional finance committee
2005 Elected regional treasurer, a position he held until March 2012
2007 Elected the chairperson of the auto national shop stewards council
2010 Appointed acting regional secretary in Eastern Cape until March 2011
2012 Elected chairperson of Eastern Cape region, March 2012
2012 Elected Numsa national treasurer, June 2012

Maqungo has also represented Numsa in the GM world company council where representatives of all GM workplaces have met globally since 2005.

Irvin Jim, General Secretary

Previous position – Regional secretary of the Eastern Cape

1991 Employed at Firestone Tyre company
1993 Elected as a full-time shop steward
2000 Elected regional secretary
2008 Elected general secretary
2012 Re-elected general secretary

While at school he was a member of Sansco. He was the one who negotiated a merger between Sansco and Nusa. He was also a Cosas activist.

He has served two terms as the deputy secretary of the SACP (provincially).

Karl Cloete, Deputy General Secretary

Born on a farm between Klaver and Vredendal near Cape Town. He was baptised in politics by Atlantis Christian Youth Association in 1981. After that he never looked back, his love for the mass movement flourished.

1982-1984 Activist for South African Allied Workers Union (SAAWU) and Clothing Workers Union (CLOWU) in Atlantis during 1982 – 1984. Both unions became affiliates of the UDF.
1984 Member of the 1st UDF Steering Committee in Atlantis in 1984.
1987 Recruited into the ANC underground
1987 COSATU Atlantis Local Secretary
1993 Resigned as Councillor when Numsa adopted the position that full-time officials of the union cannot be Councillors. He was a Councillor on the Transitional Council.
2002-3 Acting regional secretary
2004 Elected regional secretary
2008 Elected Deputy General Secretary
2012 Re-elected Deputy General Secretary

He is a board member of the Merseta.